County Court

Office Hours

8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday



Mailing Address

PO Box 865
Wilber, NE 68465


204 South High Street
Wilber, NE 68465

Josh McDougall

Clerk Magistrate

NEBRASKA’S COUNTY courts serve the citizens of each of the state’s 93 counties.

The jurisdiction of the county court is established by state law which provides for exclusive original jurisdiction in probate matters, actions based on a violation of a city or village ordinance, juvenile court matters without a separate juvenile court, adoptions, preliminary hearings in felony cases, and eminent domain proceedings. The county courts have concurrent jurisdiction in civil matters when the amount in controversy is $52,000 or less, criminal matters classified as misdemeanors or infractions, some domestic relations matters, and paternity actions. County judges also hear all small claims matters filed within the court system. County judges in all counties except Lancaster, Douglas and Sarpy have the same duties as judges of separate juvenile courts.

Appeals from the county court are made to the district court, although in certain probate and juvenile cases, appeals are made directly to the Court of Appeals.